All hail the mighty Dragonborn! Or should we still?

Last played: 2014

Previous playtime: ~30 hours

Second game I added to my Steam account was ‘The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim’. This was also through a CD-key. I had previously played ‘Oblivion’ from the Elder Scrolls series and liked it a lot (never played the main story though. I wonder what it was about..), so when my boyfriend bought Skyrim I was very excited.

Before this I had about 30 hours of playtime with the game. I actually thought the number would be much higher since I really liked the game back then. I can’t really remember what kind of character I was playing, but I do remember that I got bored with the game after getting the ‘Heartfire’-DLC. Building a house and trying to gather resources for, just ruined the game for me.

I’ve been thinking about going back to the game and starting it over for a while now, so now would be as good as time as any.

20170328184935_1.jpg

Seeing the title screen and whole beginning scene brought back fond memories.

I’ve never really related to the Argonian or Khajiit races and last time I think I played as an Wood Elf, so I decided to go with a human race. I was in the mood to play just a regular warrior, and reading the description of the Redguard, it seemed like the perfect choice.

Redguard.jpg

As the character creation is just selecting the looks of your character, I just selected one of the presets, changed the sex and hair colour (always liked darker skinned characters with white hair) and that was it.  Naming the character has always been hard for me: although you never really even see the name anywhere, so it might as well  be ‘Poop1’, I like giving characters proper names. This one got the name ‘Ra’quel’: which was just the first thing that popped into my head.

The beginning scene was just as awesome as I remembered.

20170328191003_1.jpg

(I laughed remembering the mod that replaced dragons with Thomas the Tank Engine…)

Although it’s very long and I kept thinking “Let’s go already..” (which is ironic since that what the NPCs kept saying too..), games that start right in the middle of the action are fun.

20170328191308_1.jpg

But do not try killing yourself, or you end up back to watching your beheading again.

After learning to move and jump, by running through the yard by following whom ever the games tells you to follow and avoiding the dragon, you end up in front of a keep. There you have to decide if you want to go inside with the imperial: who just tried to behead you, or the Stromcloak: who was just about to be beheaded for his crimes. This time I picked the latter, but whom ever you choose you end up getting your first gear.

Your basic inventory is easy to use, but the rest of the character menus are bit confusing at the first sight.

20170328192110_1.jpg

On what are these numbers based on?

What actually bothered me the most, is that you have magic skills right from the beginning. I wanted a character that doesn’t use basic magic, yet my character can. How does she know how to use it? In my mind her backstory was that she had just been an ordinary person before becoming a prisoner.

20170328192158_1.jpg

This part being the tutorial they leave a lot of thing unexplained. They teach you basic use of inventory and items, how to kill, how to pick locks (which I’ve always liked) and how to sneak, but that’s about it. After escaping from the keep, you are left alone and told “Go that way”.

There were lot of things I had forgotten about the game. For example that killing the last enemy in the area shows you a cool slow motion final blow animation.

20170329172236_1.jpg

This one had a lot of blood…

20170328190919_1.jpg

… because it bothered me that this one didn’t have any.

After the hour of playtime with Skyrim, I don’t think I will be playing it again. Nowadays I seem to want more freedom in creating my characters in Role-Playing-Games. Skyrim might have been a great game back in the days, but I think I’m into different kinds of RPGs now.

20170328194319_1.jpg

Anyone else ever wished there would be an option to hide the helmet? Why did I choose a cool hair, if I never get to see it…

Playtime for the review: 1,5 hours

Current status: Won’t play again

4 thoughts on “All hail the mighty Dragonborn! Or should we still?

  1. Paul and the Backlog says:

    Skyrim was definitely a game that deserves the success it got. It was huge and it allowed players to craft their own story and path through the game. It is starting to show it’s age now and is already a bit dated, but there’s still fun to be had with it. That said, I’m already waiting patiently for The Elder Scrolls 6 to just take the series to the next level.

    Like

    • metztlibet says:

      It definitely ‘was’ a great game. But in my opinion, rather than replaying Skyrim over and over again, other newer games would deserve a chance.
      And instead of focusing on ES online and re-releasing Skyrim, it’d be great if a sixth installment for the series would be in development.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul and the Backlog says:

        Yeah, definitely. Something new and fresh is always better than rehashing a product. I think we can definitely expect a 6th game in the franchise, just not for another couple of years since Bethesda is going to try to bigger with everything.

        That said, would you like to share your articles in our FB group? We’re a growing community of gaming bloggers and we’re always looking for more great writers to share and discuss their work and all things gaming. Just search for “Game Bloggers United” on Facebook.

        Like

Leave a Reply

